

#### SCCPDS "EXCELLENCE IN RESEARCH" AWARD

**Sponsored by** 

#### **Surgical Critical Care Program Directors Society (SCCPDS)**



William Chiu, MD
Treasurer, SCCPDS
Director, Surgical Critical Care Fellowship Program
University of Maryland Medical Center
Baltimore, Maryland



October 2016

### Mission

• This award will be given annually to recognize Fellows in SCC and ACS for significant research endeavors and contributions.

# Goals and Objectives

• This award is intended to encourage excellence in clinical or education research.

• It is established to recognize meritorious research in SCC or ACS which will:

- Contribute to our treatment and/or understanding of patients, or
- Enhance the education and training of SCC and ACS Fellows

# Eligibility Criteria

 Applicant must be a current Fellows enrolled in one of the following Programs:

- ACGME-accredited SCC Fellowship Program
- AAST-approved ACS Fellowship Program
- ABS-approved EM-SCC Fellowship Program

## **Evaluation Process**

- Call for Abstracts
  - February 2016
- Deadline for Abstracts
  - May 2016

- Judging Committee
  - 7 SCCPDS Board of Directors
  - 1 Representative to AAST Critical Care Committee

#### **Award Amount**

- 1 "Excellence in Research" Award
  - \$2,000 prize, plus
  - Reimbursement (maximum \$3,000)
  - Of travel, housing, and registration expenses
  - to attend the ACS Clinical Congress

- 5 Honorable Mention Awards
  - \$1,000 prize

#### **Honorable Mention**

- Rishi Rattan (SCC Year 2)
- Tony Geilow (ACS Year 1)
- David Hampton (ACS Year 1)
- Cindy Hsu (EM-SCC Year 2)
- Aisha Shaheen (SCC Year 1)

### "Excellence In Research" Award

• Cherisse Berry (ACS Year 2)

 Prospective evaluation of post-traumatic vasospasm and post-injury functional outcome assessment



2016

# CHERISSE BERRY, M.D.

David A. Spain, MD SCCPDS President

Samuel A. Tisherman, MD SCCPDS President-Elect

June 30, 2016 Date Kimberly A. Davis, MD SCCPDS Secretary

William C. Chiu, MD SCCPDS Treasurer