Surgical Section of the SCCM - Report to the SCCPDS

Surgery Section Activities at the SCCM Annual Congress in Hawaii:

- ➤ **Surgery Section Development meeting:** Date <u>Sunday January 22</u>. Time and Location TBA We will hold a development meeting on Sunday afternoon. All section members are welcome.
- ➤ Surgery Section Reception: Date <u>Sunday</u>, <u>January 22</u>. Time <u>7:00 8:30 pm</u>. Location TBA A great time to relax and catch up with your colleagues in Surgery and Critical Care
- ➤ Annual Business Meeting: Date Monday, January 23. Time 8:45 9:45 am. Location TBA Meet you colleagues; influence the direction of SCC; sign up for committees; elect new leaders
- ➤ **Surgery Section Top Gun:** Date <u>Monday, January 23</u>. Time <u>9:45-10:30 am</u>. Location TBA The third annual Top Gun competition is looking for Fellows from around the country to compete.
- ➤ Year In Review Surgery: 1 Date Monday, January 23. Time 11:30 am 12:30 pm. Location TBA

Queen's Trauma and Acute Care Surgery presents...ASSET and REBOA in Hawaii after SCCM:

► ASSET and REBOA – Thursday, January 26th, 2017 in Honolulu, HI

News from the Surgery Section:

> Mattie Horst awarded Master of Critical Care Medicine – CONGRATULATIONS!!!

This prestigious accolade is awarded by the ACCM to those who have distinguished themselves by achieving national and international professional prominence by virtue of personal character, leadership, eminence in clinical practice, outstanding contributions to research and education in critical care medicine, or years of exemplary service to the Society of Critical Care Medicine (SCCM), ACCM, and the field of critical care medicine in its broadest sense.

- > Several Surgeons are nominated for SCCM Council in the upcoming election:
 - Lew Kaplan nominated to move up to Executive Council
 - Jose Diaz and Pauline Park nominated for Surgery Section Seat
 - Wendy Greene and Phil Efron nominated for At-large Seats
- Section Travel Award Winner: Congratulations to Dr. Timothy Sweeney, winner of the Surgery Section research travel grant for SCCM Annual Congress 2016 for his work "A Parsimonious Transcriptional Signature Can Robustly Distinguish Viral From Bacterial Infections".
- Second Annual "Top Gun" Jeopardy Competition: Congratulations to the winners of 2016 Top Gun competition the "South West" team: Keneeshia Williams and Matt Singer from the University of Arizona, Tuscon and Purvi Patel, Chad Katona, and Patrick McGrew from the University of Nevada School of Medicine.
- ➤ Surgery Section Sponsored SAFETY WEBINAR SERIES: We would like to congratulate patient-safety committee co-chair Roy Constantine for creating a series of SCCM webinars on patient safety over the past year with assistance from SCCM's AHRQ grant.
- Fellowship in the American College of Critical Care Medicine: Interested in becoming FCCM? The section is committed to assisting SCCM Surgery Section members prepare and apply for fellowship into ACCM to attain FCCM designation.
- > Section leadership 2016-2017: This year's leadership is provided below.

Chair	Addison May	Membership	Sal Ahmad, MD
Chair-Elect	Matthew E. Lissauer		Charles A. Adams, Jr
Past-Chair	Jose J. Diaz, Jr	Education	Terence O'Keeffe
Secretary/Treasurer	Kaysie L. Banton		Deborah Kuhls
Strategic Planning	Kevin McConnell	Patient Safety	Susan L. Evans
Council Liaison	Lew Kaplan		Roy Constantine

Contact information is available on SCCM.ORG after you log in:

http://www.sccm.org/Member-Center/Sections/Pages/Surgery.aspx

Again, if interested in greater Surgery Section involvement, please feel free to contact Addison May (<u>addison.may@vanderbilt.edu</u>) or Matt Lissauer (<u>ml1141@rwjms.rutgers.edu</u>) with your interests.